Ikan Ikat

Image sources from clockwise left: 1) Four Walls and a Roof 2) Table Tonic and 3) Walking Around Where the Sidewalk Begins (coincidentally my old roommate’s blog and a source of so much of my inspiration). 4)Table Tonic 5) Decor Pad

Ikat is a beautiful thing.  I can’t remember where I first saw this print, but I love everything about it. It’s a method of printing woven fabric by tie-dyeing the different yarns before weaving.

The background of my blog is Ikat; so obviously I like it a lot. I think some of my favorite places to see it are in curtains (which I am about to get to), in throw pillows, and in chairs.

I eventually plan to show you pictures of my entire apartment, but for now I am going to tease you with one of my favorite things in the apartment; my Ikat curtains in the bedroom from West Elm. When I first ordered them I was a little apprehensive since my bedroom tends to fall more on the traditional side. They were moderately priced between $59-$74 a panel. I think my grand total came to $279. As soon as they arrived I knew I had made the right decision. Curtains really make a room come together. I love to wake up in the morning with the window cracked and have the sun barely peek through. On the left is the West Elm image (professionally lit, of course) and on the right are the curtains in my bedroom (taken late at night…and probably not the best way to show them off). Ikat throw pillows are one of those things you cannot go wrong with. They’re so easy to mix in here and there. Table Tonic, has lots of pillows for sale. At $79 they won’t drain you bank account, but they will change any dynamic of a room.I always find my way back to this Ikat chair from Urban Outfitters. For under $300 you can’t go wrong. I can picturing a pair of these in any living room. 

I have dreams about a purple Ikat chair in my future. I have seen so many Ikat chairs, but none that I have to have, except maybe this one from Anthropologie for a more country chic feel or these from  Style Files.

My pre-requisites for the Ikat chair I would like are the following:

1) Purple (thanks to my roommate’s obsession with the hue, it has become one of my favorite colors).

2) Be priced under $500. I would really like to find a chair with a great frame and have it reupholstered. But finding my fabric may be tough since I don’t have access to showrooms and all the upholstery I may want. Suggestions are welcome on how to accomplish this!

About designonmydime

I am a 30-something living in NYC. Follow along as I work on making my Manhattan rental a home, share inspiration, and help you design on your own dime.
This entry was posted in Design. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ikan Ikat

  1. Marsha says:

    Okay, this has got to stop. The chair from Urban Outfitters would look wonderful with the concept I have in mind for my new den. The seating was the part I had not put together yet. This and the juju, maybe I just need to hire you as a designer 🙂

Leave a Reply

